Story of Findhorn and Forres
The existing settlement is the second village to bear this name, the original having been a mile to the north-west of the present position and inundated by the sea. This transposition was not an overnight catastrophe but a gradual withdrawal from the earlier site during the late seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries. Some sources (e.g. Graham), claim it is the third village to bear the name, perhaps erroneously assuming that the seventeenth-century destruction of the nearby Barony of Culbin by shifting sands resulted in an earlier relocation.
In the seventeenth century Findhorn was the principal seaport of Moray and vessels regularly sailed to and from all parts of the North Sea and as far as the Baltic Ports. During the nineteenth century fishing predominated. During the 1829 floods known as “The Muckle Spate” five Findhorn fishing boats rescued Forres residents. For a few years (1860-9) there was a branch railway line to the village to take advantage of the herring fleet.
To learn more about the Findhorn history visit the Heritage Centre in Findhorn village. The Findhorn Foundation visitors centre can also provide information about the past of the world famous Findhorn Community.
The Sueno’s Stone in Forres is one window to the past. It is the largest surviving Pictish stone of its type in Scotland and stands over 6.5 metres (about 21 feet) high. Not forgetting the Witches Stone in front of Forres police station telling a grim tale about what happened to Witches at that time.
Castles, Battlefields and Loch Ness
Scotland and Highlands are of course full of fascinating ancient history. Nearby are the castles of Cawdor and Brodie, the infamous Culloden battlefield with the Clava Cairns close by, and of course Loch Ness. An added attraction in the summer is the numerous Scottish highland games.